Michael Kiwanuka – Home Again (2012)

Michael Kiwanuka - Home Again (2012)

Michael Kiwanuka is a British soul singer of Ugandan heritage, who has been likened to Bill Withers, Otis Reading, and The Temptations, and Home Again is his debut album.

First off, a confession, I’m not a massive fan of Soul/Motown. I can definitely go for some Smokey Robinson or Marvin Gaye now and again, but apart from the hits, I don’t find that much of it catches my attention.

With that in mind, I have to say that I wasn’t blown away by Home Again. The album is well produced and the music is well played, Kiwanuka has a good voice and the album isn’t offensive to my ears; and that’s the problem, I didn’t find it particularly challenging or engaging.

There are some highlights for me. Bones is a track I’d heard before today, and I think it’s great, the opening track, Tell Me a Tale, is a good track, harking back to the 70s sound, They Say I’m Doing Fine has got a nice bluesy feel to it and Now I’m Seeing sounds like it could be Randy Newman; there are even inklings of jazzy sax and flute, but overall, I don’t think I’m the target audience for this and I found little of interest. I know that people will like this, but not me, not really.

Favourite tracks: Tell Me a Tale, Bones, They Say I’m Doing Just Fine

Spotify link: Michael Kiwanuka – Home Again
Sneak peak: 

Leave a comment